CONGRATULATIONS “CUBA to FLORIDA” Mermaid #DianaNyad on Never Giving Up!

Diana NyadWith a name like Nyad, what can we expect? This woman has topped the tenacity charts and reminds us that sometimes it takes 30 years to achieve your dream, so don’t give up in the meantime! You may have to swim through sharks, stinging jelly fish, and the absolute maddening intellectual boredom of swimming for 53 hours (I used to do multiplication tables when I swam for 3 hours! and I am not good at math), but you can still do it if your desire outweighs all other obstacles–internal and external.

I remember reading the memoir of the first woman to swim the English Channel when I was about 12 years old. I wanted to be just like her. I was dancing in NYC when Diana Nyad swam around Manhattan and knew I would never have the courage to face those mucky garbage filled waters that she did, and I loved her account of that swim. What is it about long distance swims that inspire me? The sheer determination to face such vast solitude – nothing but your body and mind, your breath… I love what Diana said about Swimming the Florida Straits though: “swimming looks like a solitary sport, but it’s a team.”

DON’T MISS THE VIDEO CLIP OF HER ARRIVING ON SHORE – WITHOUT HER LAND LEGS!

Leave a Reply

