How to Solve an Argument

So, you are walking down the beach and your boyfriend is telling you, “We need to make a plan. We need to figure out what we’re doing for August and then we need to stick to it.”
Yes, it is 8:00am. Yes, it is beautiful. The Merdog is running ahead splashing in the waves, but the boyfriend has forgotten he is a Merman and is simply a landlubber and that makes him irritating, especially before a cup of coffee.
You say, “I have too much on my plate right now to make a plan. I have to just get through today.” There is more but I don’t want to bore you.
“You need to make a plan.” He walks ahead, angry because I am so anti-organization. I’m a lack of control freak. I take off my pants. He doesn’t notice. He is too busy making plans. He continues on his tirade, and what HE thinks we should do, which is really what this is all about. I unbutton my shirt. He does not pause because he is ahead of me now and I am holding back watching the waves, waiting for that perfect moment.
When he turns around, I am gone. A mermaid bobbing in the waves, away from the troubles and plans of the world and floating back and forth in the sway of tidal time, much more timeless.
The dog is thrilled and rolls in the sand, kicking his heels in the air. I swim and splash and scream a bit because it IS cold! When I come out, I feel better. I feel great. And the argument? It’s over.

One thought on “How to Solve an Argument

Leave a Reply

